Golf Weekend – The Masters

This weekend I am working on designs but have a very good seat in front of my TV set because it is Masters Weekend!  To most you say this is just another golf tournament but to me this is the game that holds a very special place in my heart and in my life.  I really think that it is the true influence on what my favorite color is – green.  Foliage Green to be exact.

golf balls and tees copy

augusta course copy

I started playing golf at about age 14.  My uncle put a club in my hand but just like painting I was self-taught for the most part.  I went on to play 4 years of collegiate golf and consider my college years a wonderful experience.  We have a family joke that my sister Sandy worked her way through college and I played golf.

I approach painting a lot like golf.  It takes practice, patience and lots of creativity.  You have to be a problem solver.  Golf taught me discipline and made me very humble.  It also taught me to pick myself up, dust myself off and tee it up again.

get what you work for copy

Most of all it is a challenge and fun.  If it wasn’t, there would be no reason to do it over and over and over again.  I also have had some great opportunities for lifetime memories in both activities and have met wonderful people along the way.

palmer quote copy

seuss quote copy

For the last few years I have been teaching on Masters Weekend so this is a real treat for me.  I have been battling a knee and back problem but I bet by tomorrow I will get out my sticks and at least give them a swing to see what happens.  Wish me luck!  I want to play again and days like this make it worse.  In a good way …

If nothing else I will be painting green this weekend!  Enjoy the Masters!

Going last year was a tease. I want back in the worst way. :-)

 

Leave a Reply

